Little things in 2017

Well, it looks like I may only get a year out of one of these pages, since the one I set up early in 2016 is now starting to go funny as well. That's fine, here's one for 2017. Here's the link for my original it's the little things page, and the one for the second iteration, too (for some reason that one kept switching to an extra small font so here's hoping this one ends up a bit easier to read).

Monday 2nd January 2017
Smoothie
Snow
Leaving work on time


Tuesday 3rd January 2017
Nice chat with one of my favourite men in the world

Wednesday 4th January 2017
Bills written and posted promptly


Thursday 5th January 2017
Used 4-minute break between trams to run to farm shop for eggs and back
New notebook to use as bullet journal

Sunday 8th January 2017
Cooked pork using a few different ideas from various recipes and it was delicious
Still keeping up with the washing-up 

Thursday 12th January 2017
Progress made in work on a task I have been trying to get to grips with for months
Tidied up a spot in the kitchen that has needed to be cleared for a long time, more or less since about a week after I moved in

Friday 13th January 2017
Left work later than planned but still early enough that it wasn't yet dark

Saturday 14th January 2017
Cleared and tidied a spot in the kitchen that has been bugging me for months (because of clearing I did on Thursday, I had space to put the things that had been stacked on the floor)

Sunday 15th January 2017
Still keeping it up and doing the washing-up every day 
Completed first assignment for online course 
Really good vegetable soup

Monday 16th January 2017
Went to two lectures and got some reading for course done in between
Finished complicated task in work
Found present for sister's birthday

Tuesday 17th January 2017
Washing-up done
Delicious stir-fry
Painted for the first time since school

Wednesday 18th January 2017
Swept and cleaned floors and cleaned bathroom
Washing done

Thursday 19th January 2017
Got planned roasted veg dish cooked

Friday 20th January 2017
Unexpected but much appreciated phone call
Made it to rehearsal on time
Leftover veg delicious. For both lunch and dinner!

Saturday 21st January 2017
Changed the bedclothes
Enjoying one last night of xmas decorations
Did the washing up from last night more or less first thing this morning

Need to get back in the habit of doing this more regularly. In the meantime, here are some of the nicest things that happened in February
Being asked to join special smaller choir group for between-semester rehearsals and performances
Cleared off corner unit (which hasn't been touched since I moved in), as well as moving dehydrator to a spot in a cupboard, which freed up a spot for a basket to hold post and papers to be dealt with
Doing pretty well with smoothies and soups on the BSD
Someone who'd know enough to notice changes commenting on weightloss
Singing, singing, and more singing
Lots of good meals in good company with interesting discussions and much laughter (as well as lots of smiling) in Halle
Holding hands
Starting to regularly practice ukulele
Great new white top for choir performances - roomy and breezy, just what's needed
Hugs
Halloren Kugeln


Wednesday 1st March 2017
2 years later actually set up online banking for new bank, including activating a savings plan to buy ETF shares


Thursday 2nd March 2017
Delicious patatas bravas
Phoned red cross (blood donation place) to get them to send me reminders for the place I actually donate at

Friday 17th March 2017
Magnolia blooming

Wednesday 29nd March 2017
Discovered someone around the corner has a lilac tree - only small yet but a proper lilac colour and smells beautiful

Thursday 6th April 2017
Making it to early bus after choir finished a few minutes early - home 30 minutes earlier than usual 

Friday 7th April 2017
Made it to donate blood 

Tuesday 11th April 2017
Unexpected phone call from someone I really wanted to talk to, even if the noise of traffic meant we had to cut conversation short
A nearly hour-long phone call in the evening with my niece

Wednesday 12th April 2017
Falafel sandwich and joking with the cook

Friday 14th April 2017
Sleeping in
Delicious herb-crusted pork

Saturday 15th April 2017
Leftover pork and potatoes making for a very easy day of meals



Sunday 16th April 2017
Rearranging furniture - not quite at perfect yet but a step closer


Monday 17th April 2017
Rain stopped and sun came out just as I was going to collect second lot of washing from machine - it's now a perfect day for drying
Washing-up done
Bathroom cleaned

Thursday 27th April 2017
Getting up way too early to make it to Dusseldorf in time for an early lunch with a friend - who then treated me
Other friend being available for a spontaneous meet-up in the afternoon
Meeting up with old choir friends for a lovely night out with conversation as interesting as always - such a special bunch of people

Friday 28th April 2017
Visit to Schloß Benrath (I never managed to do the tour when I actually lived in Dusseldorf)
Lovely concert, sorry not to have been singing but almost as nice to be there listening

Saturday 29th April 2017
Last minute change to plans meaning I got to go to friend's birthday party for longer than half-an-hour

Friday 12th May 2017
Sitting and watching ducklings and goslings in a park

Friday 26th May 2017
Finally blocked shawl 

Saturday 27th May 2017
Back to France for the first time in two and a half years
Mooching around the funfair for an hour
Xmas pressies in May

Monday 29th May 2017
Strawberries
Understanding at least half of my nephew's play

Tuesday 30th May 2017
Afternoon by the lake and finding a nook to read in in the park
Niece's dance recital

Wednesday 31th May 2017
Some much-needed downtime with a good friend

Thursday 1st June 2017
Getting to see brother's new house

Friday 2nd June 2017
Catch-up with niece and grandnephew
Dinner with the girls

Saturday 3rd June 2017
Being treated to dinner before going to a lovely concert - can never have too much Mozart
Drinks in Dann's

Sunday 4th June 2017
Finally visiting Bloom in the Park, years after first time I wanted to go
Fry-up with chips for lunch

Monday 5th June 2017
Unexpected phone call to make me smile
Quick visit to my brother before heading down to Galway

Tuesday 6th June 2017
Two blissful hours all on my own
Potato waffles for dinner

Wednesday 7th June 2017
Home sweet home

Thursday 8th June 2017
Choir practice even though I really didn't feel like it
Visiting sis did the washing up

Friday 9th June 2017
Falafel for late lunch then moseying through town

Saturday 10th June 2017
Visit to castle
Unexpected flute/recorder concert from house we were passing by

Sunday 11th June 2017
Zoo
Picnic

Monday 12th June 2017
Doorknobs

Tuesday 13th June 2017
Washing done


Saturday 12th June 2017
Remembered box of Maltesers in suitcase
3 hours on phone with brother


Sunday 13th June 2017
Potted on aloe vera and basil
Finished using up leftovers from the week as well as half-empty jars from fridge
Wrote invoices
Sorted rubber mat yokes (they've been living on the balcony in a black bag since I moved a year ago!)
Hoovered

Monday 14th June 2017
Remembered to leave lentils to soak
Lunch in the garden
Made lentil salad
Updated bullet journal

Tuesday 15th June 2017
Chopped apples and put rescuable bits into Tupperware for snack
Used forgotten half-lemon to clean sink
Washed lettuce
Finally wrote to Mieterverein to change address

Thursday 31st July 2017
Hoovered!


Friday 1 September 2017
Finally actually brought chair and floor-mat yokes to second-hand shop
Indian head massage
Meeting new people (but having to leave after an hour for choir, so no stress about running out of small talk or being overwhelmed)

Saturday 2nd September 2017
Set table properly for dinner: cleaned up old, not-used-for-years candlesticks and lit candles, put on nice tablecloth, had a lovely dinner

Sunday 3rd September 2017
Finished washing-up leftover from last week (all the cutlery) and last night's dinner

Monday 4th September 2017
Colleague (not the one I expected) was really nice to me about new job and made a point of coming up to me later when I was on my own to tell me she thinks I am absolutely making the right decision

Tuesday 5th September 2017
Took time in the morning to wash lettuce, and wash and chop tomatoes (all bought yesterday) 
Brought salad to work for lunch (lettuce and a separate container with tomatoes, pickled onions, and a couple of slices of ham chopped up small)
Took months-old carrots out of fridge this morning and left them on counter with tins of kidney beans so that I would get the hint to make burgers as soon as I got home
Decided on the way home that I was too tired and hungry to make burgers, got in the door and switched on the oven to cook some chips, and then actually did make the burgers as well
Decided while eating that I was too tired to do the washing-up, then started running water to just rinse off the knife and just actually did all the washing-up, including today's lunch things
Stopped writng this list to actually phone the friend I have been meaning to phone for at least three weeks  

Wednesday 6th September 2017
Made it on time to get the only-goes-three-times-a-day bus home, saving me a good twenty minutes in the evening

Thursday 7th September 2017
Took the morning to enjoy one of my last late start Thursdays and got lots done
Swept floors
 
 

No comments: